THE SQL Server Blog Spot on the Web

Welcome to SQLblog.com - The SQL Server blog spot on the web Sign in | |
in Search

Sergio Govoni

A place where share my experience on SQL Server and related technologies

PASS DW/BI Virtual Chapter Upcoming Sessions (December 2013)

Let me point out the upcoming live events scheduled for December 2013 organized by PASS Business Intelligence Virtual Chapter.

 

Create and Load a Staging Environment from Scratch in an Hour with Biml

Date: Thursday 12 December Noon PST / 3 PM EST / 8 PM GMT
Speaker: Scott Currie
URL: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/7424713205660411905

Business Intelligence Markup Language (Biml) automates your BI patterns and eliminates the manual repetition that consumes most of your SSIS development time. During this hour long presentation, Scott Currie from Varigence will use the free BIDSHelper add-in for BIDS and SSDT to introduce Biml and use to automatically generate large quantities of custom SSIS packages. The session will be largely demonstration driven, and reusable sample code will be distributed for you to use in your own projects. Using a live-typing approach, Scott will start from scratch and by the end of the session create a full-blown staging environment. This will include the creation of *hundreds* of target table creation scripts, data load packages, data scrubbing rules, logging, and more. The best part is that you can freely reuse the code in your own environment just by changing the connection strings - or make small changes to implement your own data load patterns.

 

Inferred Dimension Members within MDS and SSIS

Date: Monday 16 December 3 PM PST / 6 PM EST / 11 PM GMT
Speaker: Reza Rad
URL: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/7123625140094491905

Combining Master Data Services with Data Warehouses, will cause some challenges in ETL Scenarios. In this session we will go through a demo of Inferred Dimension Members implementation with SSIS considering the fact that MDS keeps the single version of truth for the dimension record. In this session you will learn how we will write back new record's data into MDS entity as an Inferred member. The staging structure of Master Data Services and Batch Processing will be used for this. Then you will learn what is the best practice to add the inferred record into Data Warehouse dimension. Updating the existing dimension member also would consider the Inferred member and apply SCD types only if this is not an inferred Member.

 

Guerrilla MDS/MDM The Road To Data Governance

Date: Thursday 19 December Noon PST / 3 PM EST / 8 PM GMT
Speakers: Ira Whiteside and Victoria Stasiewicz
URL: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/336644427020709122

Ira and Vic's session "Guerrilla MDS" will be a walk-through of a real-world implementation for a master data model (MDM) and metadata mart utilizing SSIS, MDS and POWER BI EXCEL add-ins as well as applying proper data quality techniques. We will walk through in detail the processes necessary for utilizing the complete MDS functionality as follows: creating entities attribute, relating entities the domain based attributes, staging leave table, updated entity content, apply business rules, create subscription view and set up security. Source code for all samples and PowerPoint will be made available. 

Published Saturday, December 07, 2013 1:33 AM by Sergio Govoni

Comments

No Comments
Anonymous comments are disabled
Powered by Community Server (Commercial Edition), by Telligent Systems
  Privacy Statement