THE SQL Server Blog Spot on the Web

Welcome to SQLblog.com - The SQL Server blog spot on the web Sign in | |
in Search

Sergio Govoni

A place where share my experience on SQL Server and related technologies

PASS Business Intelligence Virtual Chapter Upcoming Sessions (November 2013)

Let me point out the upcoming live events, dedicated to Business Intelligence with SQL Server, that PASS Business Intelligence Virtual Chapter has scheduled for November 2013.

 

The "Accidental Business Intelligence Project Manager"

Date: Thursday 7th November - 8:00 PM GMT / 3:00 PM EST / Noon PST
Speaker: Jen Stirrup
URL: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/5018337449405969666

  • You've watched the Apprentice with Donald Trump and Lord Alan Sugar. You know that the Project Manager is usually the one gets fired
  • You've heard that Business Intelligence projects are prone to failure
  • You know that a quick Bing search for "why do Business Intelligence projects fail?" produces a search result of 25 million hits!
  • Despite all this… you're now Business Intelligence Project Manager – now what do you do?

In this session, Jen will provide a "sparks from the anvil" series of steps and working practices in Business Intelligence Project Management. What about waterfall vs agile? What is a Gantt chart anyway? Is Microsoft Project your friend or a problematic aspect of being a BI PM? Jen will give you some ideas and insights that will help you set your BI project right: assess priorities, avoid conflict, empower the BI team and generally deliver the Business Intelligence project successfully!

 

Dimensional Modelling Design Patterns: Beyond Basics

Date: Tuesday 12th November - Noon AEDT / 1:00 AM GMT / Monday 11th November 5:00 PM PST
Speaker: Jason Horner, Josh Fennessy and friends
URL: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/852881628115426561

This session will provide a deeper dive into the art of dimensional modeling. We will look at the different types of fact tables and dimension tables, how and when to use them. We will also some approaches to creating rich hierarchies that make reporting a snap. This session promises to be very interactive and engaging, bring your toughest Dimensional Modeling quandaries.

 

Data Vault Data Warehouse Architecture

Date: Tuesday 19th November - 4:00 PM PST / 7 PM EST / Wednesday 20th November 11:00 PM AEDT
Speaker: Jeff Renz and Leslie Weed
URL: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/1571569707028142849

Data vault is a compelling architecture for an enterprise data warehouse using SQL Server 2012. A well designed data vault data warehouse facilitates fast, efficient and maintainable data integration across business systems. In this session Leslie and I will review the basics about enterprise data warehouse design, introduce you to the data vault architecture and discuss how you can leverage new features of SQL Server 2012 help make your data warehouse solution provide maximum value to your users. 

Published Sunday, November 03, 2013 2:47 AM by Sergio Govoni

Comments

No Comments
Anonymous comments are disabled
Powered by Community Server (Commercial Edition), by Telligent Systems
  Privacy Statement